The Nano Chronicles: Breaking Down The First Few Days Of Nano For All You Writerly Watermelons+ *SNIPPETS*

photo-1434030216411-0b793f4b4173 (1)

Why are You Reading this post??? You should be writing you senseless piece of salty watermelon!!  It’s November for Heaven’s Sake!!

Justttt Kiddinggg!  You can take a break, I suppose.  A short one, mind you.  You have a word goal to complete!  says the person who is taking a few HOURS of a break to write this post

Welcome to The First Installment of my November blogging Series, Nano Wrimo Chronicles!

I will be updating you (hopefully)  weekly on how my writing experience of rough draft garbage is going!

I know, way to attract people to read my blog… calling my writing garbage…BUT IT IS.  At this point at least.  It’s how the first draft is supposed to be… right?  RIGHT????

So basically, I’ve been mad a March hare when it has come to writing over the past four days.  I set myself a goal of writing one thousand words per day and WOULD YOU LOOK AT THAT?

 

I’M GOOD AT GOALS APPARENTLY

Let’s move on.  XD

When I first logged on to the Nano Young Writers program…

The redheaded guy with an unnaturally long beard greated me along with his dragon friends,and I thought…

F889B9EE-11BB-4A94-9862-2B15208571A6

THESE DRAGONS WILL SLAY ME.

I will shrivel up and die I thought,  you will fail, I told myself.

WELL GUESS WHAT BRAIN

I signed up anyways.  And I have every intention to win and bring prosperity to my-

Ok I need to stop at this point I sound like someone going on a real deal quest.  Not a quest to WRITE about a quest…

DAY ONE 

Word count:  One Thousand, Eight Hundred, and Eighty Seven  (!!!!)

OK I WAS SO PROUD OF MYSELF

93A2D0E6-FB11-4D68-950C-392931A5F832

I have to admit I was kind of salty mostly because I had to go to the dentist and I was like, “Excuse me I have writing to do, my teeth can most definitely wait!!”  But whatever.

yeah I pretty much chowed down on chocolate whilst writing/squealing because I’m FINALLY writing.  I’ve been quite the lazy little half baked potato over the past year or so and I literally didn’t write a single word!  Yet I call myself a writer????  I really did have a dry spell there…

Everyone always says, “You need to have an opening line or at least know the first few paragraphs before you start!”  and I’m like, “Bah Humbug!” Yup, I’m a writerly scrooge.  deal with it.

And that was the day when I finally faced it.  I looked at the blinking cursor and cursed it, and I came up with an opening line right off the bat!

“What are you afraid of?” 

Then I kept writing and writing and writing and did I mention Writing?  You know how writers do.

She smiled as she always began every session with, and held out her pale, bony hand to the little girl standing in front of her.  The girl furrowed her brows and looked up at her, puzzled.  The look on her face expressed fear of human contact of any form, but that was just what Dr. Whittier gathered from her college degree.  Her best uneducated guess was that this girl didn’t have proper etiquette. 

DAY TWO

Words written:  598

*adjusts nerds glasses*  so according to the nano experts, my average should have been 833 words per day… but I kind of ignored that… I wrote until I didn’t feel like writing anymore.  And you know what?  That’s ok!

0E052A55-568B-4BA4-9F19-A8B374CA600A

I’m doing fine though, so far I’m at my goal of around 6,000 in 6 days so…

I think I didn’t write quite as much because I was writing about Indigo’s OCD, and I still needed to research for that part… oops.  And I watched this really cool video of a day in the life of some one with OCD, and it literally saved my LIFE people.

I’m fine with writing about fears because we all have them at some point, but mental illness… I felt like I needed to represent it correctly, because OCD is a serious mental illness.

The brush combed through her hair 5 times.  She picked up the next lock of straight, ebony colored hair, and yanked the brush through 5 times more.  Her hands were a pale complexion, and she drummed them on the smooth, chestnut wooded coffee table.  The long fingernails curled against the surface and Indigo Winters took exactly 4 and a half sips of her tea.  No ice, just exactly 2/3 teaspoons of sugar.  Her lithe body was dressed in a black dress to match her hair and offset her complexion, which was the color of paste.  She stood.  Her pace was even, and counted, as she moved across the tile.   Her steps formed a perfect diagonal line across the kitchen floor until… she stepped to the right, not the left.  This was not how it was supposed to be done!  Indigo carefully placed her foot down on each tile as she moved back to where she began, and started once more. Left foot, right foot, left foot, right foot…

DAY THREE

whoops no words.

And the thing is I don’t even remember why?? Like why did I not even attempt to get at least like a sentence in??  Whatever.

C6A42536-2317-4C4B-8A9D-F65C0C2136FD

DAY FOUR

Words written:  1736

Yet I made up for it the next day with a whopping 1736 words!

Ok, so for all of your experiences Nano-ers, these big word counts to me may not seem like a ton, but this is my first time and I feel like I’ve just run an entire marathon after completing almost 2,000 words in a day.

70E67E6C-60E5-432D-A8F6-FB4529D12A28

This was the day when I discovered word sprinting!  It felt so much less stressful to just simply write and not worry and fret over every little word or phrase.  I did a one hour sprint for 1,000 words and won, a half an hour sprint for 500 words and won, and tried to do another 500 but was cut short because my eyes were pulling me from conscienceless…so I went to sleep instead.  😛

 

His guts told him he would be fine.  And the ripped forest ranger informed them that when dealing with nature, you had to stick with your gut.  

But Hugo didn’t know that his gut was not at all accurate.  At least not at the times he needed it to be.  

Sure, the cliff was a steep one.  Yes, the height from the water below was a fairly high one. But at least 7 kids had just gone.  Their palms seemed a little clammy, but other than that, they seemed undaunted by the cliff diving section of the Wobegon Woods Adventure Course Experience.  

His gut told him that that would be the case for him as well. 

But as we have already established, guts aren’t always correct.  

DAY FIVE

words written:  813

SO yesterday I basically was driving the entire day  home from my grandmother’s house, yet right before I left I sat outside with a nice slice of pumpkin pie smothered in cool whip, cracked my knuckles, and attacked the key board.

This was the day that I had to tackle the bullying scene.  Yet I didn’t want the cliche bullying scene, so I researched for an hour or so on how NOT to do that.

Yet…. I still managed to make it SUPER cliche. The jock and the pretty girl bullies the losers.  Pretty typical, Sam.

But this seems like an editing problem, which will come later, so we shall ignore it for now…

 

Just as he was about to open his mouth and say something back, footsteps pounded towards them.  A pair of high heels and an expensive brand of running shoes.  

He recalled a few months back. Abigail Cunningham, the girl who was beautiful, smart, and awkward all at the same time, was hanging out with the loser kid. Obviously, people started talking. Namely, Ashley Noffley and Jacob Delano.  

You could find Ashely strutting the hallways of the school, her mini skirt frequently hiking up her waist, her high heels clicking, a menacing gleam in her ice blue eyes, and fingers intertwined with those of Jacob Delano.  Meanwhile, students hid behind their locker doors as they walked by, keeping themselves away from their gaze of cruelty.

48E8AF17-1056-459B-85FB-921D84B668F6

UGGGH COME ON WHY IS IT SUCH A BASIC BULLYING SCENE.

I’m so mad at myself, yet I’m proud because I didn’t fix it, but I know there will be some SERIOUS fixing going on later.  But those names like omg they’re sooo basic I’m so annoyed with the author inside me who told me to write that.

TODAY

words written:  849

I wrote the most important scene in the first part of the book today.  I won’t give away too much of a snippet, but it involves a diner, and a few discoveries….

C4596C72-A284-4EFB-8BB9-9974EE3DB95F

The smells of grease and unhealthy oils filled Idigo’s senses, and locked her into a trance filled with thoughts of…

a nice neat salad.  

It was a rare sight to see.  Indigo never ate at fast food restaurants.  She preffered her microwave meals, promising 200 calories or less, and ready in 30 seconds.  A routine.  

It had almost drove her to a breaking point as soon as she opened the door.  Soda pop was spilled on the blue and red checkered tile, and several tables had not been cleaned yet.  She further inspected her surroundings.  The menu above the cashier station looked promising enough.  There were a few options for salads, and she ended up deciding on the “Fresh Garden Herb”  mix.  Although she knew that there was no way it could be fresh.

And no the discovery is not that fast food restaurants are unhealthy.

 

REVELATIONS THROUGH MY SIX DAY EXPERIENCE WITH NANO

  • wow I thought I was a perfectionist look at one of my characters
  • i love cats why do I insist on including one in each story how am i supposed to make a cat relevant to the freaking actual plot
  • words sam.  real words. write words samantha, that’s the whole point.  No stop bashing your head on the keyboard…

TOTAL PROGRESS

  • 5898 words
  • 23% to my total goal

ONE LINER SNIPPETS

“Tears dropped on the table from underneath where the boy was still floating.”

 

“He stared sadly at Abigail’s battered T-shirt and perfect straight hair and hazel eyes.  

But he knew they would never be his.  “

 

“The television screen flickered with static, and came to life. A handsome man held a rose, and gave it to an equally attractive lady.  Indigo sighed, and turned the device off.  (…)  But she knew that she would never be compatible for a companion or a spouse.  She realized that no man would ever even dream of giving her a rose.”

OK! So I have something to say…

I’m planning on doing SO MANY WORDS over my three day weekend I have soon, and I hope to write 8k per day, which would mean *does math* MORE than my goal!  I want to hit my goal, but the entire point of the nano program is to just get the story out there.  And I gotta say, I don’t think the story will be done at 25k.  So I might expand my goal… I’m thinking at least 40k, but it’d be rad if I could make it to the full 50k!

ADBD9552-2F20-4AF8-B8A8-D3349D4C9DF2

I feel extra…

Good luck to you in all of your national novel writing monthly endeavors!  AND SEND ME CHOCOLATE PLEASE I WILL LOVE YOU FOREVER

also sorry for putting you through 2k words just now the author inside me is FEELIN ALIVE

signoff2 (3)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

39 thoughts on “The Nano Chronicles: Breaking Down The First Few Days Of Nano For All You Writerly Watermelons+ *SNIPPETS*

  1. Congratulationssssssssssssssssss! 😀 😀 😀 And I’m not doing NaNo. Unfortunately. (thank Bible Bee) But hey, when the Young Writer’s Workshop opens in January for enrollment, you should try it out! It’s TOTALLY helped me. Consistency in writing is key.
    ~ Light4theLord

    Like

  2. Awesome job so far Sam! I loved reading what you have written so far and I can’t wait to read it when it’s done! *sends you lots of chocolate* 😉
    – Katie 🙂

    Like

    1. Ooh, yay! well most of what I’ve written so far in garbage but soon it shall me gold. I wish real life garbage could turn into gold. OOH novel idea. THANKS FOR THE CHOCOLATE ILY

      Like

  3. CHOCOLATE EVERYWHERES
    I’m also 6k in. And I think we need to do some kind of swap at the end of this, because what we are writing is (I think) of the same genre. Agreed?
    See you in the chat! I’ll be there until 1 CT tomorrow afternoon. 🙂

    Like

  4. Congrats! I did NaNoWriMo in 2012, 2013, and 2014. I loved it. I’m working on finishing my 2012 “endeavor” now. I haven’t done it for the last few years because of my wedding, and school. But, I’m almost done with my second degree, yay! Back to the point – I loved reading this post. Can’t wait to see more!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dude I never have my opening lines planned out ahahhaha. 😂 And your snippets are BEAUTIFUL!! I actually wanted to do 833 words a day too to get 25K but now I’m actually going for the full 50K????? 😱 Also YES WORD SPRINTS ARE AMAZING and even more so with other people. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    1. hahaha
      THANK YOU YOU MADE MY DAY SWEET MAY
      I think 50k will be better for me as well because I don’t want to not finish my story!!! Then what would the whole point be? It all depends on if I hit 25k this weekend… so no pressure Sam. XD
      YES I word war-ed with 2 people so far and I won both I feel so victorious like I just conquered an entire country or something is that normal???????

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

