Rancho Travel Journal

IMG_0031

Hey little roses.

Today I will be documenting my trip to where my grandparents live, the ranch.  It’s quite pretty there, with all the wildlife and scenery, and I never want to forget it.  Because in a year or so, they will be retiring and moving away from the beautiful vineyard landscape, and moving a lot closer to all their grandchildren. 🙂

I want this to be a place of vivid details and description of my memories, so let’s go.

Thursday,  June 29th, 2017 Day 1

 

California get’s kind of old to drive through, when you’ve driven through it all your life.  Most of it is crops, vineyards, orchards, and rolling hills.  The drive is 3 hours, and I pretty much listened to music the entire way there.  The view wasn’t too special out the car window, so I didn’t get a chance to take any photos.

IMG_9958

When we arrive, we hug our grandparents, say hello to my aunt and to my baby cousin, Ramona, and then I start putting my stuff in our room.

IMG_0054

This is the set of stairs that leads up to my room.

My room that I share with my brother when I stay at the Ranch has a pair of beds and it’s on top of the entire house.  I can see the entire Ranch from my window up there.  It was built by my uncles and my grandfather in like the 80’s or 90’s for an extra room, and I love it.  I’ve been there for as long as I can remember, and I have only fallen from the stairs once.  😉

IMG_9893

There is a huge bookcase on your way up the stairs, and I always get distracted by them when heading on up.  They contain volumes of classic literature, and a lot of Babysitter’s club and Goosebumps.  😛

IMG_9891I thought the quilt in my room was kind of pretty.

IMG_9894

IMG_9895IMG_9896

IMG_9971

On the first day, we didn’t do very much except sit around on the patio and talk awhile while all the birds chirped and the day met the night.

We had Papa Murphy’s Pizza today, and I made cookies from refrigerated cookie dough.  They were pretty good, I guess.

Friday, June 30th, 2017, day 2

IMG_9118

I woke up later than usual for this whole trip, about 6:45!

Wow.  *slow clap*

 

This was another relaxing day of eating pretty much all the sugar that was placed in the treat basket. There is a wicker basket that sits on top of the fridge and contains pretty much  diabetes itself.

IMG_9968

My grandmother wanted to go out to town and go eat someplace, and I accompany her.

We go to Texas Roadhouse, where the waitress pretty much force feeds me honey butter even though I politely tell her I don’t care for it.  Free peanuts are good.  I get a hamburger and a salad.

IMG_9626

My grandma surprises me and takes me to Beverly’s a local craft store, and she buys me everything I need for a super big project for my dolls.  Thanks Grandma.  🙂

IMG_9910

I think this spider is trying to tell me something.  ^^

We then went grocery shopping and got more things to stock the treat basket, and buy ingredients for the upcoming meals.

It’s not good to go grocery shopping when you’re hungry.

IMG_9907

So I take a quick dip in the hot tub, and read for the rest of the afternoon/evening.

I read a lot of Warrior Cats, and Pride and Prejudice.  

IMG_9799

My aunt also leaves on vacation for Mexico, and my mom is now stationed at her house to babysit Ramona.

Saturday, July 1st, 2017 Day 3

My father drove down today, and he will be staying at my aunt’s house with my mom until he has to leave to go back to work on Wednesday.

IMG_9610

But the most exciting thing today was the my Uncle Gabor, and his super sweet girlfriend, Shana came!  He isn’t really my uncle, but he’s my dad’s best friend, and he’s super close to the family, so we think of him as an uncle.  They also have a dog named Bogie, who was pretty cute.

IMG_9804

We went down to the Lake out in the backroads of ranch countryside, and swam for a little while.

IMG_0041

The lake was actually a pretty nice temperature, so much so that even my mom came in.  She doesn’t go into any sort of water and swim unless it’s just right.  XD XD

IMG_9666

And then we swam in this pool, that isn’t technically ours, but that’s a story for another time. 🙂

With my Uncle Gabor, my dad, my brother, and I, we made a whirlpool in it because it’s a rare specimen of a circular pool.

I’d rather not describe this in too much detail, but clearly the pool guy hadn’t come in awhile, and there were some… furry, feathered, and froggy things in there.  This caused our pool time to be cut short.  *shivers*

IMG_9668

I’d like to believe the snail and the frog’s are friends  ^^

Fun fact: I saved that frog from the pool.. You’re welcome, Brendon the frog.

IMG_9970

I took some pictures for my doll blog, and then for dinner we had my grandpa’s famous tri-tip, with 5-star garlic bread.  My mouth is still watering.  I also made brownies from a box, and fed them to the family.  They were yummy, but then again, what chocolate isn’t yummy?

Sunday, July 2nd, 2017, Day 4

IMG_9912

I woke up, and started shooting for my series at my doll blog for a few hours.  It was very foggy today.

I had a breakfast of a bagel with Nutella on it.

I roamed around the ranch’s winery taking photo’s of anything that had texture because I was bored.

IMG_9913IMG_9914IMG_9938

There are these cool grape vines hanging from the tasting room

IMG_9942IMG_9940

An old olive press.

IMG_9948IMG_9953

And there’s meeeeee.

We also went to the river and trekked through the algae buildup for about an hour.  Then we swam in a swimming hole. 🙂

IMG_9806

I got a picture of the beautiful sunset that fell that day.

IMG_9811

IMG_9814

idk, this one kind of looks like an eye.

Monday, July 3rd, 2017 Day 5

IMG_9830

I chased this butterfly around for 10 minutes to get this picture.

IMG_9904

My brother and I played hide and seek around the whole ranch for the morning.  He hid in plain sight because he isn’t very good at that game (jk) and made me chase him.  I’m too fast for him, so he quickly learned that that was not a good idea.

IMG_9608

Then, when it was my turn, I hid in the back of my grandpa’s truck.  That was not a very good choice, since the inside of the back of the truck is black, and it was really, really, sunny.  Before I burnt to a crisp, I went to go hide behind a fence where he found me within minutes.  Oh well.

IMG_9611

My grandpa took us to town.  We went to In N’ Out, where, naturally, I spilled my water all over myself.  It was good, though.  Then, we went and got some fireworks.  We searched around town for a bit, and then finally found a stand that went to a good cause, the American Legion.

What’s more patriotic than buying fireworks for fourth of july, and then having the proceeds go to help men who fought for this country?

After we picked up our pyrotechnics, we drove to a bakery where we picked up a beautiful lattice apple pie.  My brother and I waited in the car for 5 minutes, arguing over which fireworks would be bigger, and grandpa promptly came back with batteries for my camera, and chocolate and caramel covered ice cream pops for us.  Thanks Grandpa.  🙂

 

Fourth Of July, Day 6

The day was spent eating ruffles, listening to old American Music, and nagging my brother to put on a patriotic shirt.

IMG_9974

I wore a blue shirt with stars on it, and I let my mom put my hair in really high pigtails.  XD

We had a waterballoon fight with bunch o’ balloons, a gift to mankind.  You know, the ones where all you have to do is connect them to the hose and they automatically tie themselves.

They are the most marvelous apparatuses in the universe.

When darkness finally rolled into the sky, we set off the fireworks:

IMG_9631

This one was called magic beans.  XD

IMG_9643IMG_9639IMG_9646IMG_9647

I would’ve taken more pictures, but my camera ran out of batteries in the middle.  😦

Day 6, Wednesday, July 5th

IMG_9986

I decided to take some photo’s of the unique and beautiful home decor placed all ove my grandmother’s home.

IMG_9905IMG_9900IMG_9899IMG_9982

I remember this bench from when I was a very little girl,

IMG_9983

There’s my baby foot.  ❤  IMG_9979

I love the pattern on this vase.

IMG_9975

This driftwood is from Hawaii.

IMG_9996

This lady has something very strange in her goblet…IMG_9998IMG_0008IMG_9898

Today I went to a local cafe, where I ate one delicious patty melt.  Everyone relaxed at home, and My brother and I ran through the sprinklers in the pastures.

Day 7, Thursday, July 6th

IMG_9592

There was a rainbow straight above us today.  IMG_9597IMG_9602

My grandmother took us out to town, and we saw Wonder Woman.  I got popcorn drenched in butter, and cookie dough bites.  Wonder Woman was insanely good.  Super hero movies are always my favorite to go to the theaters and watch.  🙂IMG_9603

Lay us down,

We’re In Love.

Lay us down,

We’re in love.

 

IMG_9605

In these coming years,

many things will change.

But The way I feel,

Will remain the same.

ohhhhhhhhh

Day 8, Friday, July 7th

IMG_9125

My grandpa made me a breakfast fit for a queen, yet again, he does treat me like a queen.  😉  He made me scrambled eggs, sourdough toast (sourdough is another gift to mankind), and a thick slice of ham.

IMG_9966

My brother and I played for most of the day today.  We played in the pool, and fortunately, the only deceased creatures floating around were frogs, not birds and mice.

We made up a story about the bird we had found in the days earlier.

IMG_9991

A daydream spills from my corked head
Breaks free of my wooden neck
Left a nod over sleeping waves
Like bobbing bait for bathing cod
Floating flocks of candled swans
Slowly drift across wax ponds
IMG_9606
My aunt and uncle come back from Mexico today, giving the tragic signal that my time here is almost up.

Day 8, Saturday July 8th, 2017

We were supposed to leave today, but as the burning Alamo fire rages across California, the roads are closed, meaning that we’re trapped there.  But in a good way, I suppose.

IMG_9981

As I sit and read by the pastures, I watch as Forest Service trucks come in.  They will be posted at the lake, at take water from it to help with the fire.

IMG_0023

The alamo fire reached 28,925 acres across California, and it was rather excited to witness such a vigorous event.

Obviously we couldn’t get too close to the huge Alamo fire, but we drove around to a different, smaller fire started by a vehicle, and I took some pictures.

Sunday, July 9th, 2017

IMG_0061

The sky is dappled with these tangerine clouds as we depart the ranch

IMG_0062

We bid farewell to our family members and head off into the same roads we came.

The ranch will always hold a special place in my heart.  It is a place where I can come, and let my heart and soul run free and be happy.

Thanks for having me, Grandma.  ❤

transparent

25 thoughts on “Rancho Travel Journal

  1. FIRST! Wow, this is such a great post. Buuuut, “until the day met the night”? Seriouslyyyyy.
    Jkjk. I LOVED all the photos. My fav is probably the one close to the end, of you holding the flower, or of your feet in the water. This is so sweet, & it sounds like you had a great vacation!
    Also, that sunset is GORG.
    PS: Rudave forever. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

      1. THEN GO DRINK A CUP OF TEA AND STUFF YOUR FACE WITH BROCOLLI SO IT GETS STUCK IN YOUR BRACES.

        (That came out sounding really menacing. XD)

        Like

      1. I’m glad! I actually just got back from a trip to Branson with two of my friends, it was really fun! It was only a three-and-a-half hour drive, and we stayed for two nights. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. All of these pictures of the Ranch look so amazing! It seems like you had a lot of fun! The BFF snail and frog were so cute. I really liked the picture of the flowers and the wooden heart. Samantha, your words at the end, “It is a place where I can come , and let my heart and soul run free and be happy’ is a beautiful sentiment!
    -Rose

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Ranch is amazing!! Your pictures captured it so well. Wish I was there for some tri-tip and 5-star garlic bread, oh man! Stay out of that treat basket !! 🙂 Love this post 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

