Bookmark Struggles

Bookmark StrugglesGreetings Bookworms!

So, bookmarks.  The struggle is so real.

There are so many problems these devices for marking your place have that they couldn’t even fit into one post.  But let’s give it a try, shall we?

Struggle #1

Where we BUY Bookmarks

A common misconsception is that everyone splurges their money at Target.  (Which is partly true, but that’s another story,) But what about us Bookworms?  We have a special place to clear out our purses/wallets.

 

download

via

*angelic music playing in the background*

Yes.  This is the heaven that all bookworms yearn for.

But wait.

You come in for a good book, come out with 10.  (Again, another story)  but you’re about to check out and you see it.  You are hooked in.

Charlie Brown pop-up greeting cards?  Harry Potter merchandise?  BOOKMARKS?

Image result for ooh shiny gif

via

You need it all.  You are convinced.  You pick up a pretty floral bookmark.  Then of course you need to pick up 9 more for every single book your bought, because #logic.  XD

This is why Barne’s and Nobles will always and forever be the death of my savings.   Beware the bookmarks.

 

Struggle #2

Getting the Bookmark and Losing it

Ok, so you have your wonderful bookmark.  But the packaging is so cute, in it’s nice little box.  Plus, you need to read ASAP, so you’ll just wait to open it to mark your place in your book.  Right?

WRONG.

 

3 months later, you find all those bookmarks you spent 40 bucks on still sitting in a drawer.  So, you finally take apart the packaging, and set it right beside you so that when you finish reading, you can bookmark your place.

So,  you’re kind of falling in love with this bookmark, it’s so pretty, and you are so proud of yourself for sticking with it, and remembering to put it into the book.  You carry your book to your backpack for school, and put it into it with the bookmark in it.

Later, you take the book out of your backpack at school to read it.  Only to find….

THE BOOK IS OPENED.

*Dun, dun, DUNNNN*

It must have lodged itself open while you were carrying it around.

Image result for the horror gif

via

You wildly search around for the bookmark in your backpack, but you know that your backpack must lead to a black hole, because you can never find a single thing in there.

So now your bookmark is missing in some sort of abyss in space, so it failed to do the ONE JOB you paid for it to do.  Hold your place.

 

Struggle #3

Spoilers

You fratically dive into your book, turning pages, reading paragraph after paragraph, until you read it…

“And so he yelled into the midnight forest, ‘I will AVENGE your death, father!”

And you cry.  Right there, on the spot, at school.  Kids are staring, but you don’t care.  You just spoiled the entire book.  All because of your stupid bookmark.

 

Struggle #4

Built in Bookmarks

IMG_8642

Oh, believe me, I have not forgotten the books with built in ribbon bookmarks.  How could one forget??

In some books, the copy comes with a skinny ribbon bookmark to keep your place, to prevent the drama that you previously read in this post from occurring.

IMG_8645

Could this bookmark finally be the one to actually do it’s job?  Will it prevail and rise above all the other’s?

Nope.

It frays like crazy.  It bother’s me SO much, that I eventually stop using it at all.

(If it’s a really special book, like the one above, I’ll still use it, BUT IT STILL BOTHER’S ME!)

It frays, comes apart, and you cry because even bookmarks you can’t lose are up to this daunting task of holding your place.

IMG_8640

And this is me.  I am not ashamed of myself, I dog ear my books.  I’m not the kind of person that  will walk ten steps open a drawer and get a bookmark.  Usually, when I’m done reading, it’s at night, and I need sleep, so I just dog ear my book, and set it aside.  Easy, simple, will always keep your place.

Anyways, I hope you enjoyed this short and bitter sweet post all about the struggles of bookmarks!

Are you a dog ear person or a bookmark person?  Can you think of any more bookmark struggles?  I’d love to talk to you!  Comment below!

transparent

 

43 thoughts on “Bookmark Struggles

  1. I actually have this bookmark that has a little elastic band so you can wrap it around the book and it never falls out. It’s a lifesaver!!😃😃😃(not talking about the candy here😂)
    I’m more of a bookmark person rather than a dog ear person, probably because I read books from the library most of the time, and dog earring library books just doesn’t feel polite.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, my family has a whole room in our house that we call “the library” because we keep all of our books in it, and let me tell you, we have A TON of books. 😂📚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well, our “library” doesn’t have big ceiling high shelves like in the movies, it’s just 2 tall IKEA cubbies layed flat on the floor. The room also doubles as my dad’s office, so the opposite wall has a huge desk. It’s still super cool, though!

        Like

  2. This post is so true! I am always losing my bookmarks. I don’t dog ear my books because I can’t stand it, so normally I just try to remember the page number I’m on. I normally fail though. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry this is so late. XD Happy late fathers day to your dad too! I made mine a card that had the google search page, and I drew the search “World’s Best Dad” and on the inside I put “Results: You!” and some other stuff. pinterest is so helpful. XD

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 🙂
        that’s so creative! i did something like that last year, except it was google maps looking for the “best dad ever” and i put my house address. lol!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. NOOOOO SAAAAAAM HOW COULD YOU. *cries* When you dogear the book, you RUIN the book! It’s like… getting the page wet. Or dropping a crumb in the middle. *CRIES* I used to memorize page numbers (not very well), but then I found this FABULOUS business card that serves as a really great bookmark. So now I use it. XD

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I use any snippet of paper I can put my hands on…toilet paper, kleenex or even a candy wrapper. I do not dog ear a hardback book but have been known to dog ear a paperback.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I WOULD NEVER DOGEAR A BOOK. How horrible. XD
    I usually wear something with pockets and put a bookmark in my pocket before I start reading. Though sometimes I forget it’s there and it ends up in the washing machine. 😛

    -Clara ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I KNOW AND I’M NOT ASHAMED
      XD
      I tried to find a bookmark to use for this post, but I’m almost positive they’re all in a black hole somewhere. Wow I didn’t know bookmarks could be so versatile as in the materials you use to make one. XD I got the biggest spoiler in PJO one time from losing a bookmark, I think I cried. XD

      Like

  6. Unbelievably true! I dog-ear.. and people are like your not a true bookworm you dog-ear person. I know where one bookmark is at the moment and it’s from when I was 7 not kidding. Lol! 😛
    -Geeky_Girl ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. For me, I am a fierce hater of dog-eared pages. REALLY?? You ruin your book, just to mark your page, people?? I’m a bookmark person, for sure…but that means I generally have to use any scrap piece o’ good ol’ paper lying about. XD
    -Sara ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. NEVER. Dogearing is something I used to do, but I stopped do not that once I realized that my book corners are just getting ruined, so I go for ripped up pieces of papers or ANYTHING. When you read books like me, you quit trying to buy pretty bookmarks and take anything that can qualify as one.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Here’s a tip from me: If you like to get creative and such, then I’d suggest making your own bookmark, because then it would mean more to you. 😊👍

        Like

  9. Goodness gracious. NO dog ears NO NO NO!!! I cringe every I’m huge on pretty bookmarks and, likewise, Barnes & Noble has become my haven and assumes full control of my paycheck every week.
    I’m not the hugest fan of this ribbon like bookmarks, reason being that my kitty LOVES to chew on them and attack them while I read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

