How To Turn Your Artwork into a Gorgeous Graphic!

How To Transform your Artwork into a Gorgeous Graphic!

Hi!

So, a few days ago, my Mom made a really pretty piece of artwork of flowers, and she gave it to me.  I really liked how it looked, and thought it would make a great blog divider!

IMG_7881

So I sought out Clara’s AMAZING post on how to turn your hand lettering into a pretty graphic. (Click on this nifty little link to view her post!)

However, I realized that if I used the method she used, the artwork would turn out black and white.  So, I experimented a bit, and I bring you Step One

Begin by opening https://www.picmonkey.com/ and selecting the edit button in the top tab, and then open your image into the editor.  Picmonkey is completely free, but if you want some select fonts, filters, and overlays, you can purchase Picmonkey Royale, but I don’t have that, so I’m just using the free filters they provide!

Screenshot 2017-06-02 at 6.58.50 PM

This is what mine looked like in the editor!

Step One (3)

Next, crop your image so that only the white paper and the artwork is showing, no background distraction such as carpet… XD

Screenshot 2017-06-02 at 6.59.14 PM

Screenshot 2017-06-02 at 6.59.27 PM

All Cropped!Step One (4)

Screenshot 2017-06-02 at 7.01.10 PM

Now, direct your attention to the left tab please!  Open the Sharpen tab in the editor bar, and raise the sharpness a tad, and set the clarity to about 50%.

 

Step One (5)

Screenshot 2017-06-02 at 7.02.37 PM

In the exposure tab in the editor bar, you can raise your shadows to 100% and your contrast to about 70%.  Then, raise your highlights to about 20.

This will give your artwork a nice generic white background!

Step One (6)

 

Screenshot 2017-06-02 at 7.06.13 PM

I wanted this to be a little less neon and bright to fit with my blog aesthetic, so I moved up the temperature a bit and the Saturation down to -32.  (These are all found in the colors tab)

Step Six

Screenshot 2017-06-02 at 7.07.14 PM

Now, you can save it in the Save button in the top tab of your editor, and there you have it!  A pretty piece of artwork ready for your blog!

IMG_7881I hope you found this useful, and please don’t skip out on checking out Clara’s cool post to learn how to make your hand lettering into a blog graphic!  It was one of the most helpful posts I have ever read, and served as inspiration for this post!

transparent

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “How To Turn Your Artwork into a Gorgeous Graphic!

  1. That’s really cool, Samantha! I’ve used picmonkey before, but I never knew you could turn your own artwork that was done on paper into a graphic like that! Fun! 😀
    ~Jenn~

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yah, I sometimes use it to make custom AG doll edits, or even for a picture that I’m going to use for my friend’s birthday card or a school assignment! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. No, I don’t have a blog. A few blogs you should follow, though, are Dolls N’ All and A Light In my Life, both ran by Light4theLord. They are both really great, and Light4theLord is a really sweet person! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Amazing! I don’t draw, but my sister does! This would be a great way to showcase her drawings on my blog, but not just being a simple picture of the sketchbook. 😂

    ~Hope

    Like

Leave a Reply

