Bubble Gum Squad-Part 1

sickactualhuman1

Hey guys!  Happy fourth of July!  I’m writing a short story, and this is the first part, but after I wrote it, I hopped on over to https://sosugarsweet.wordpress.com/, and took a look at her awesome writing contest.  It turned out that some of the prompts were perfect for the first part!  And with some editing, I switched a few details around, and VOILA, this:

It all began with a question.  I was walking through the bustling streets of Brooklyn, ignoring my surroundings, yet noticing everything.  I noticed the elderly man with the Italian accent, selling a chili dog to a woman in a shadowy fur coat with a hood, so you couldn’t see her face.  She carried it away, and after taking swift, clean, and polite bites, she gingerly wrapped it up again in the middle.  Getting her fur coat very dirty, she knelt down in front of the homeless man a few shops down, and handed it to him.  He smiled wryly with gratitude. as she strutted off.  The homeless man stood, wiped the bits of chili from his mouth, and walked off, dropping a half eaten bag of potato chips behind him.  Another man, this one clearly different, stepped on the bag with his sleek leather loafers, and CRACK!  The potato chips burst into crumbs.  As he kept on walking without seeming to notice the demolished thinly sliced potatoes, he smoothed his already smooth hair, fixed his fixed tie, and unrumpled his unrumpled suit.  And while I noticed all that, I didn’t notice the things like the bright red firetruck, screaming it’s siren through the city, or the neon billboard trying to convince me to buy the newest phone, or the fact that somebody was following me.

And while I was busy ignoring those things, I thought about the day’s planned events.  I would walk for 2 more blocks turn on 32nd street, greet the receptionist as I walked into the building address 3945, ride the elevator 3 stories up, and greet my mother in her office.  Then I would walk one more block to home, read the rest of my new book, and be picked up by my Grandmother for a night out, just the two of us.  I loved my grandmother, she was my absolute favorite person in the world.  She was always interested in me, listened to me, and most of all, she treated me like an adult, although at the age of twelve I was far from it.  She was so…

I was immediately interrupted from my thoughts as somebody cleared their throat behind me.  It felt as though my blood turned to ice as  I hesitantly turned around, my eyes squeezed shut.   I knew I shouldn’t have done this, for  I knew that it was very, very bad for  somebody I didn’t know to call for your attention on the street.  But I did do it.  It was a woman, with a grey sweatshirt and tight jeans, who had been following.  Her face unbelievably beautiful and her caramel hair shining, although it was a foggy day.

“Excuse me,”  she said, I didn’t reply.

“Excuse me Summer!”  she said more loudly, but how on earth did she know my name?  I was ready to punch her or scream my lungs out right then, but she started to say something else.

“Would you like to drink this poison?”

I gasped as she pulled out a small silver vial, with neon red skull printed on it.

“What kind of question is that?”, I asked, “I’ve heard scary stories about your kind of people, but I never thought a sick human in their right mind trying to kidnap or murder of whatever you do would just ask.  ”

“I’m not human, and I’m not sick, I’m twisted, sick makes it sound like there’s a cure.”  She said simply.  Quick as lightning, and with unbelievable force, she put one hand over my mouth and tugged me into the nearest shop.  The shop’s name?  I didn’t notice.

 

-Samantha

9 thoughts on “Bubble Gum Squad-Part 1

Leave a Reply

