If Only They Would Say It-Autism Awareness Short Story

Hey there!

I have noticed that no blogger that I visit frequently has mentioned anything about autism awareness week!  Today is the last day, and I decided to write a tiny story about what I would imagine it might be like to be autistic.  It’s very short, so don’t get too excited.  😉  🙂

If Only They Would Say it

If they would just say it, I would listen to them.  But I know what they think, what they would say, even if they don’t.

Why can’t he ever sit still?

Why does he act so strange?

Why does everything have to be just right for him?

Why is he sometimes so angry?

Why can’t he speak?

They say that I’m special.  I don’t know if that’s true, but I do know that I don’t act like them, so that makes me not normal.  It separates me.  It isolates me.  They think I’m stupid, but I really know lot’s of things.

I know that people expect you to look at them when you talk with them, even when you listen better, when you look away.  I know that people think that you can’t hear them when they talk behind your back, when you really can.  I also know that people don’t always mean what they say.

But I know that they would mean it, if they would just say it.

 

 

Bidding you a bookish farewell,

-redheadwithabook

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “If Only They Would Say It-Autism Awareness Short Story

Leave a Reply

