Word Of The Week: Petrichor

Hello!  I will be doing a weekly section on this blog called Word Of The Week.  Every week on Monday, I will post a new word and you guys are personally challenged to use the word in the comments or in your post.  If you guys do this, you’ll make me smile like I just got handed a lifetime supply of free books and Hershey Bars. *Drooling*

So this week’s word is… petrichor!

  • It is a noun
  • Definition:  A pleasant smell that frequently accompanies the first rain after a long period of dry weather
  • English origin:  1960s: blend of petro-‘relating to rocks’ (the smell is believed to be caused by a liquid mixture of organic compounds that collects in the ground) and ichor

So that’s the word!   Like I said you would make me smile if you used it in the comments or in your post!  (If you use it in your post, make sure to link it in the comments so I can see how you used it!)

Bidding you a bookish farewell,

-redheadwithabook

7 thoughts on “Word Of The Week: Petrichor

  1. 😀 That’s neat! It hasn’t rained here in a long time, but if it does, and when it does, I love the petrichor smell that hangs in the air! XD 😛 Does that count?! XD 😀 😛 Just kidding!!! That’s great! I can’t wait for next weeks!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

