Book Review: Heidi by Johanna Spyri

Hello bookish friends!!  I have this tradition where every summer, I read at least one Classic.  This year, I read Heidi!  I really enjoyed it.  Classic reads are very  different from today’s publications.  The language is more sophisticated and the story line is much older.  they are still quite enjoyable.

IMG_20151116_185139

So here is my beautiful edition of Heidi!  My copy is very worn and old. Before the book review, I will show you some of the features of this classic copy.

IMG_20151116_185431

This book once belonged to my Grandmother.  There is a gorgeous book label with a name I do not know printed on it.

IMG_20151116_185008

 

Each page has a beautiful illustration.

IMG_20151116_185019

Throughout the book, there are illustrations.  This one has to be my favorite.  It is just so sweet!

 

IMG_20151116_185055

There used to be a bookmark, but sadly I accidentally broke the very old ribbon.

So now onto the review!

Rating: 

Five out of five stars.

Author:

Johanna Spyri

Review:

This book was quite enjoyable to read.  The twists and turns along the way left the reader anxious to see what would happen next.  Heidi was one of the sweetest characters I have ever read about.  Any reader will fall in love with this faithful, loving, and cheerful little girl.  This book has a more sophisticated meaning behind the actual writing.  Trust in God with all your heart and always have hope.  Heidi was a loving and sweet girl, but no matter what she faced, she always kept a little piece of hope in her heart!  When she was taught about The Lord, she kept the Lord’s teachings with her throughout the story and changed many hearts with her personality and faith.  I fully recommend this book to anyone who loves a good read!

Bidding you a bookish farewell,

-a redhead with a book

 

 

 

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “Book Review: Heidi by Johanna Spyri

  1. Good review Samantha. I loved this book too when I was about your age which goes to show just how great a book it is when it can span several generations. That is another reason to keep reading the Classics and why they are labeled Classics!

    Like

      1. Now that is so cool! My grandma used to have all these old books in her basement years ago before she moved in with my aunt. Sometimes she let my sister and I take them home to keep. Grandma died a few years ago, but I always think of her.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

